Moving forwards

TL;DR, I’m in no state to be running this place, so I’m handing it back to TG.

VanillaXSlime's Think Tank

I cited being “unwell” for my delays in running the Wammies for 2015. Now depending on your views, that might be a lie. Physically, I am absolutely fine. However I have been suffering with depression for some time. My self-esteem has been utterly shot. I contemplated suicide at several points over the last few months. Without a close network of some great friends (I’d like to specifically thank like Fran, GYOBAlix, Penny and Sunflower from WAM Chat; Mintsuko and GRZ from WAFL; and one of my flatmates whom I highly doubt will read this – I’ll not let her go unappreciated though) and some counselling, I probably would have ingested half a bottle of bourbon and a packet of painkillers by now.

I would  rather not go into too much detail about why I ended up in such a state – those that need to know do, and I’d rather…

View original post 311 more words

About VanillaXSlime

So I'm a WAM author (Suzi's Slop Drop, The Kayotics, The A-Z of Gunge II, Goo Your Own Way, miscellaneous other stuff), the administrator of, a fan of metal, punk and gothic music, an occasional cosplayer and bassist. Twitter: ECG: UMD:
This entry was posted in Admin/technical. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moving forwards

  1. TG says:

    First of all, I’m sorry to hear of your situation. If I had been aware, I would have been more gentle during our recurring Twitter “discussions”. I hope you get the time, space and help you need to recover in the best possible time-frame.

    Secondly, thanks for your service as admin over the last year and a half. When I invited you to take over in the summer of 2014, due to heavy work commitments and a waning enthusiasm for the site at that time, you stepped up to the plate without hesitation. I appreciate what you have done in keeping this a friendly, lively and accessible community. And while there are many pleasures to running a site like this, there are also less enviable tasks, such as when you had to bang heads together in the finds section last year. I admire the calm and mature way you handled these situations.

    My enthusiasm has returned somewhat since the summer of 2014, and I’m looking forward to getting down to business as reinstated admin. I don’t have as much time as I once did, but I hope I can keep the blog ticking over while still working on my fiction and developing myself as a writer. I have one or two changes planned, which I’ll reveal over the next few days, and I have some new banners to unfurl, but mostly it’ll be business as per the last five years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Henry Lee says:

    So will there be a sign saying “under old management”?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. byronmcsteele says:

    Many thanks for your efforts maintaining the site, VXS.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. abgamma says:

    VxS, thank you for taking the time to keep watch over the site. I hope everything works out well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who’s commented on here and my own blog, as well as everyone who’s been in touch via other means. I know you probably didn’t think much of saying anything, but it means a lot to me.


↓ This is where you write something ↓

