My TV Humiliation Top 12

This is my response to a thread on EC Gunge, and I think its worth reposting here. The OP asked for TV scenes in which the gungee is “genuinely humiliated”. This rules out civilian scenes and also acted scenes from telenovelas etc. As this is a subject close to my heart, here is my dirty dozen of top humiliating scenes.

12. L&K Sunetra Sarker

A favourite of mine since she tries to avoid getting her hair gunged but is caught out by the “double w(h)ammy”.

11. Passa ou Repassa girl

My focus is here is on the girl on the green team who first appears at 3:40. I love the one-sidedness here and the desire for revenge that is never fulfilled. After the first pie, she jokes that she will get her opponent back, only to get nailed with a second pie. Then, in the final question, she’s determined to buzz in first, only to give the wrong answer!

10. Ellen court case dunk tank

My fave Ellen clip by a mile because of the punishment element.

9. 101 Ways to Leave a Gameshow Clara

The double humiliation of being ridiculed as a dumb blonde and gunged.

8. Que locura! Champu “La Concha”

Various Venezuelan supermodels are tricked into advertising a spoof shampoo product. The setup is non-consensual, and hence unethical, but I would be a liar if I claimed not to enjoy it.

7. Mucho que Perder

Having to sing that you are a loser while getting soaked is certainly a humiliating situation. However, I think the woman is a celebrity so it’s unclear whether she is “genuinely humiliated”.

6. GYOB Alyson

Of course, the general premise of GYOB is to humiliate the grown-ups. Why did I single out this clip? Because, IMO, no other contestant visibly hated being in the gunge as much as Alyson (except perhaps Frances, but that was a shit gunging).

5. MoM Rachel Stevens

The one time when Diva Stevens didn’t run fast enough.😀

4. Kidnapped Tar and feathers

This scantily-clad Asian completely loses it when faced with her messy fate.

3. Wudja Cudja £1000 challenge

“I love being covered in poo!” This clip is divisive because it features manure, but there’s little argument over the extent of the girl’s humiliation. The presenter is clearly a natural-born bully too.

2. Richard Bey Show Ca-pie-tal punishment

Mob justice at its messiest.

1. Charlotte on NHP

Sublime set-up. I’ve written about this clip in detail here.

One problem I have when doing these lists of favourites is that there are always ones I forget about and then think “damn, why didn’t I put that one in?”. In fact, I’ve already thought of a couple since writing this (EDIT: how did I not put anything from Japan in this list?). I’d appreciate to hear from other humiliation junkies what they think of my choices and what their own faves are.

About TG

Hunter of WAM media, author of WAM fiction, founder and administrator of the independent and community-led blog
This entry was posted in Discussions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My TV Humiliation Top 12

  1. terroristpie says:

    The link to where you talk about Charlotte on NHP doesn’t work.
    I’ll throw in this clip. Like you I love the idea of a punishment.


    • TG says:

      Thanks, fixed the link.

      Yeah, RBS produced several humilitastic moments. It’s the perfect counterexample to those who claim “In the UK mess is about humiliation, in the US it’s a positive thing”.


  2. wolf324 says:

    Rachel Stevens on MOM was really phenomenal for what it was; it had been such a long time coming (seriously – she’d appeared on the show a million times and always got away clean). There was only like one time before that where Stephen kind of teased pieing her, and had the producer hastily tell him that she was NOT to get pied, which basically killed any hope I’d had of ever seeing it happen. The whole show was actually pretty great the way it built up to her getting pied: it starts with her throwing punch or something over Stephen then fleeing for safety. Stephen promises that Cakey Skate later on might get very interesting. Actually got my hopes up briefly, but of course it turns out that when Rachel plays Cakey Skate, the set up is that she has three attempts to get the cake above a certain height; each time she fails she has to cake one of her assistants who look after her hair and makeup. She fails twice, then actually makes it, but cakes the last assistant anyway. And seems to take no small pleasure in doing it! At the end I was hoping they might enact their revenge, but again these hopes were dashed as they immediately cut away. Of course it wasn’t going to happen – Rachel Stevens was never going to get messy!

    My heart actually leapt into my mouth when I saw Holly walk on stage with her right at the end of the show with a pie hidden behind her back. It was such a tense moment for me, and I thought it absolutely glorious when Holly announced that Rachel’s team had something they wanted her to have: a pie right in her gorgeous face!

    Two other good ones spring to mind from MOM, which I won’t link to because of the crowd, but there’s one where Caprice gets caked and has an absolutely fantastic freak out as a result, and one where Melissa from Big Brother cakes Stephen and tries to get away, only to get grabbed from behind and held in place for a caking – the expression on her face as she sees him holding the cake in front of her knowing there’s absolutely nothing she can do to avoid it is priceless.


  3. henrylee1 says:

    A strong list, TG.

    As I and others mentioned on ECG, as far as I’m concerned, no discussion of humiliating WAM is complete without mentioning the Russian gameshow Cash and Trash.

    I love the simplicity of the format: a contestant performs their act and then the audience votes whether to reward them with cash or cover them in something nasty. It’s like the Roman empire and gladiators all over again- the victim is completely at the mercy of the crowd.

    Take this one for example:

    You can see her face run the full gamut from fear to hope before the inevitable. She then gives the crowd the finger and receives a bucket of gunge in reply, to their obvious delight.

    This is like the early stages of the X Factor with any pretension about it being a ‘serious competition’ taken away, and the humiliation coming in the form of mess rather than a withering put down from a C-List celeb.


  4. terroristpie says:

    What did the woman on Richard Bay do to deserve her punishment?


↓ This is where you write something ↓

