Music Monday Double: Device and 3 of a Kind

Beware: If you actually listen to the songs in here, you will get severe mood whiplash.

A little while ago on my blog I did a bit of a slapdash job of answering the following question, posed by Labyrinth on UMD:

With the recent thread about Slayer’s video, is there some link between metal music and WAM (would suit me if there was!)? Unlikely I know, but regardless of genre, there are plenty of messy music videos out there – seems girls covered in stuff is a fitting accompaniment to music (and vice versa)!

In short, my answer was “possibly, but the evidence I have isn’t great and there’s just as much if not more WAM in dance and electronic music”. Of course, it would suit me too if there was a link beyond the fact that Charlotte Wessels and Miko would look fantastic covered in goop.

I’m not talking about Delain or exist†trace today though. Instead, I’m going to post the video that sparked the question: “Vilify” by Device, side-project of Disturbed frontman David Draiman. A girl writhing in black ooze is nice, but are cybernetics much of a turn-on?

Not my favourite song by Draiman by a longshot (that would be Disturbed’s “Indestructible”) but not bad.

The other video today is what I’d consider more typical fare for crossing over mess and music: dance trio 3 of a Kind, one-hit wonders back in 2004 with the following track: “Babycakes”. Perhaps the most notable thing about this song is that it kept the Libertines off the #1 spot the week it came out. Anyway, antics in a cake factory ensue at about 2:25.

I remember this song. Wasn’t a fan of it at the time and my taste has only drifted from it since, I’m afraid!

About VanillaXSlime

So I'm a WAM author (Suzi's Slop Drop, The Kayotics, The A-Z of Gunge II, Goo Your Own Way, miscellaneous other stuff), the administrator of, a fan of metal, punk and gothic music, an occasional cosplayer and bassist. Twitter: ECG: UMD:
This entry was posted in Food (fights), Gunge, Music videos. Bookmark the permalink.

↓ This is where you write something ↓

