Music Monday: Cradle of Filth

Don’t worry – this feature’s going to be sticking around for a while yet!

First off, wow. This week’s not a great one for mess, but I love the music. The first one has the metal staple of filming underwater, which we’ve seen quite a few times now. This is “Born in a Burial Gown”, from about 3:30. As I implied, it’s one for the wetlook fans who don’t mind a rather metally bloke getting wet alongside a woman.

The second one I can’t really show on here due to exposed female genitalia (thus contravening the blog’s nudity taboo), but if you’re a fan of theatrical blood, looking up the video for “From the Cradle to Enslave” is a really, really good idea. It has a gothy-looking girl emerging from a bath of blood and a few other bloody good bits. Literally bloody, and literally good. Obviously not one for the squeamish, but easy enough to find via the usual avenues.

I haven’t said much about the music, though that’s become a thing since most of it is stuff I don’t feel strongly one way or the other about (nor something the blog is really about). This though? Black metal’s not really my thing (more of a fan of thrash, gothic, symphonic, melodic death and classic/heavy) but I like what I’ve heard between this and some music from videogame soundtracks. Also, as I often do, I did some quick research into the band itself and found a couple of people to add to my “would like to gunge” list – ex-keyboardist Ashley Ellyllon and current keyboardist Caroline Campbell. The fact the band has “filth” in the name just adds to the appeal!

About VanillaXSlime

So I'm a WAM author (Suzi's Slop Drop, The Kayotics, The A-Z of Gunge II, Goo Your Own Way, miscellaneous other stuff), the administrator of, a fan of metal, punk and gothic music, an occasional cosplayer and bassist. Twitter: ECG: UMD:
This entry was posted in Music videos, Water and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

↓ This is where you write something ↓

