The WAMmer’s Playlist

I think after this week’s Music Monday I need something not awful to cleanse my senses. I sat through an hour of awful anime just because I knew it had a couple of scenes which might be of interest to you guys, simply because the video for a song I dislike had something that reminded me of it. So, music is to blame for me feeling awful so I say it should be music to make me feel better. How about we build a “WAMmer’s Playlist” of sorts? Two flavours: One of songs which evoke WAM in some way, one of song titles reworked into messy puns.

The first song for the first list is a song by Green Day (a decent messy band name in itself), from the second of their recent album trilogy, “¡Dos!”. This track is called “Wow! That’s Loud” and features a few lines which I’m sure weren’t intended to allude to WAM or sploshing in any way but I can’t help re-interpreting as such.

Smell your technicolour in your eyes
Makes me sick with pleasure in my mind

…You’re such a beautiful mess tonight
Wow that dirty dress is so loud

Also, male WAM fans might want to check out the video for “American Idiot”.

The second one is of course, AC/DC’s “Cover You In Oil”.

As for the second list:
PSY: Gunge ‘Em Style
In This Moment: The Gunge Show
The Beautiful South: A Little Slime
Metallica: Nothing Else Splatters


About VanillaXSlime

So I'm a WAM author (Suzi's Slop Drop, The Kayotics, The A-Z of Gunge II, Goo Your Own Way, miscellaneous other stuff), the administrator of, a fan of metal, punk and gothic music, an occasional cosplayer and bassist. Twitter: ECG: UMD:
This entry was posted in Discussions. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The WAMmer’s Playlist

  1. Oh dear, is this an invite for me to throw out a barrage of awful puns?

    Firstly, wouldn’t “Gang-WAM Style” be a better name for PSY’s massive hit? Anyway, a list of dubious puns follows:
    “Painted Love” by Soft Cell
    “Gunge-day Bloody Gunge-day” by U2
    “Fairytale of Goo York” by The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl
    “Splashes to Splashes” by David Bowie
    “Born Sloppy” by Underworld
    “A Rush of Gunge to the Head” by Coldplay
    “SLiME” by Brian Wilson (originally called “SMiLE”…)
    “I Bet You Look Goo-ed on the Dancefloor” by Arctic Monkeys
    “I Don’t Feel Like Dunking” by Scissor Sisters

    …And I’ll stop there, lest I break things with my dreadful sense of humour.


  2. wamfan101 says:

    Though I’d do some Pie themed ones:

    Girls Aloud: Pie-ology
    Ellie Goulding: Starry Pied
    Pixie Lott: Pie Me out
    Katy Perry: Pie-rework
    Damien Rice: Pie Cannonball
    Survivor: Pie of the Tiger
    Guns N Roses: Live and Let Pie
    Madonna: Pie Another Day
    Eminen/Rihanna: Love the Way You Pie
    R Kelly: I Believe I Can Pie

    And a couple of non-pie one:
    Black Eyed Peas: The Slime (Dirty Bit)
    Sandi Thom: I Wish I was a Gunk Rocker


  3. TellyGunge says:

    Chaka Khan – Slime Every Woman
    Mess Club 7 – There ain’t no party like Noel’s House Party
    Kylie Minogue – I Should Be So Mucky
    Gunkadelic – One Nation Under The Goo
    Ottawam – G.U.N.G.E
    Slimon and Gargunkel – Feeling gooey
    Queen – Don’t Slop Me Now
    The Beatles – Messterday
    Cutting Crew – I Just Got Pied in Your Arms Tonight
    Chemical Brothers – Push the Button (and Get Your Own Back!)
    Gershwin – Rhapsody in Goo
    Dvořák – Goo World Symphony

    Titles that don’t even need to be changed:

    Cheryl Cole – Messy Little Raindrops
    Prince – Purple Rain
    Rose Royce – Car Wash
    Handel – Water Music

    And for the category of songs that actually mention mess, Wolf At The Door by Radiohead:

    Get up get the gunge
    Get the eggs
    Get the flan in the face
    The flan in the face
    The flan in the face


↓ This is where you write something ↓

