Music Monday: Otep

Found a tip-off for this over at ECG. I first heard of Otep and their song “Rise, Rebel, Resist” via the soundtrack to the videogame Saints Row: The Third but didn’t know it even had a video, let alone one where a Sarah Palin lookalike gets covered with brown goo, not too dissimilar to that from the Epica and AC/DC videos I posted before. I might have to rejig my Top 10 list to fit this in somewhere.

In said topic I said I’d look into Otep a bit more – being a metal band fronted by a woman (I despise the term “female fronted metal”), the relevance to my interests doesn’t stop at the oil flying around. While I found some pretty good music (in my opinion anyway), this was the only video that was of much relevance. There was some fake blood in the video for “Fists Fall” but I don’t think anyone’s really into that and even if they were, it was just a few drops on vocalist Otep Schamaya’s hands and a female extra’s face and thus nothing really to get worked up about.

About VanillaXSlime

So I'm a WAM author (Suzi's Slop Drop, The Kayotics, The A-Z of Gunge II, Goo Your Own Way, miscellaneous other stuff), the administrator of, a fan of metal, punk and gothic music, an occasional cosplayer and bassist. Twitter: ECG: UMD:
This entry was posted in Gunge, Music videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Music Monday: Otep

  1. wamwamwam123 says:

    I’m glad to see the return of Music Monday🙂


  2. Thanks for that nice find!
    One of the only reasons i might become a palin fan … her beeing slimed🙂


↓ This is where you write something ↓

